The Governing Bodies History Champions Meet the Team

Scottish Motor Sports (SMS) was formed in 2011 and consists of representatives of two- and four-wheel motor sport. These include the Motorsport UK car clubs through the Scottish Association of Motor Sports Clubs (SAMSC), the kart clubs through the ASKC, and Knockhill, while the Scottish Auto Cycle Union (SACU) represents the interests of the two-wheel community.

SMS is not a new governing body or a new association; it is a strategic body, designed to speak with one voice about all things motor sport. It exists not to regulate or dictate the activities of the governing bodies but to assist with the overall development of the sport through a collective approach to strategy and communications.

Motor sport is without doubt one of the sports in which Scotland and Scottish competitors excel, yet there has traditionally been little recognition of the importance of the sport to the nation. Motor sport has brought so much to Scotland and the benefits to the country have not simply been seen in a sporting context, but also one of social and economic impact. Imagine how much more might have been achieved and how many more national and international stars created, had the sport benefited from the same levels of investment and support as other mainstream sports?

SMS strives to ensure that motor sport is able to take its rightful place at the top table of Scottish sporting achievement and works to fulfil its vision; ‘To put motor sport at the heart of the Scottish sporting landscape’. SMS provides a channel for motor sport to talk with the Scottish Government and its associated agencies (Sportscotland, EventScotland, Visit Scotland, etc), distilling a co-ordinated message from the entire sport.

In 2013, SMS were successful in securing funding from Sportscotland to recruit a full time National Development Officer for motor sport in Scotland. Rory Bryant was appointed for the role in November 2013 and has since worked closely with both internal and external stakeholders to produce a comprehensive 4 year strategic plan for motor sport in Scotland. This plan, which can be viewed in the ‘Resources’ section of this website, is based on the combined knowledge and aspirations of the 2 and 4 wheel motor sport communities. The plan covers the key areas for development, which are namely; Participation, Performance, Places and Events and Governance. It aims to implement a framework that supports clubs and events to grow participation in motor sport whilst providing support for competitors with the potential to succeed at the highest level and ensuring that the sport has strong governance.

Going forward, SMS is committed to; building on its successes in engaging motor sport with Government Agencies, improving the visibility of motor sport in society and to secure increased funding and support for the development of motor sport in Scotland.



The SMS Committee is currently in the process of recruiting a new Chairperson. The rest of the group consist of representatives from various positions within 2 and 4 wheel motor sport, as well as having representation from Sportscotland and EventScotland.

The Full list of committee members are as follows:

[Vacant Position]                 Chairman 

Alastair McNaughton           Vice Chairman, Scottish Auto Cycle Union

Allan McNish                       President of the Scottish Motor Racing Club and ex professional Racing Driver

Bruce Lyle                           Vice President, Scottish Association of Motor Sport Clubs

Colin Clark                          Commercial Director, Motorsport UK

Donald Young                     Company Secretary, Scottish Auto Cycle Union (SACU)

Gillian Sefton                      SMS National Development Manager

Greg Symes                       Motorsport UK Academy Manager

Hugh McCaig                     Ecurie Ecosse Patron

Nadia Cesari                      Events Manager at EventScotland

Jillian Shedden                  Director at Knockhill

Peter Weall                        Chairman of the Scottish Association of Motor Sport Clubs

Robert Reid                       Ex professional rally co driver

Rod Taylor                        Motorsport UK Kart committee member

Sandy Denham                 Motorsport UK Council Member

Sandy Hodge                    Partnership Manager at SportScotland

Sandy Mack                      Chairman of the Scottish Auto Cycle Union (SACU)

Shabaz Khan                    SMS National Development Officer

Home Site Map About Calendars SMS Academy News Social Clubs Resources Contact